Week 23

Image 3

With our Mi Familia Family History Books!!!!

With our Mi Familia Family History Books!!!!

Hola Family!

I don’t know how I can even begin to express the emotions and the experiences that I have had this past week. As a missionary I spend everyday teaching people that this life isn’t the end. That our families aren’t temporary. And that we can truly live with our families forever. I’ve always known that this is true, that through the Gospel of Jesus Christ we have this hope. But now, I know without a doubt that I will see my Father again. It’s not the end.
It’s been incredible to feel the strength and peace that I have gained through this simple knowledge and testimony. As I talked to my Mission President about the death of my father and the circumstances of where I am at this moment, I began to see that I am here- in Peru- for a reason. God puts people, trials, and experiences in our lives for a reason. Sometimes we don’t know why or we can’t make sense of why things need to happen- but when we truly rely on our faith, we can feel the Lord’s love in any circumstance.And I have truly felt this love and strength through these last few days.
 About 3 weeks ago my companion and I started teaching a family whose father had passed away suddenly at a relatively young age. As we finished the lesson one day I had this strange impression that I would be able to share their pain, their experiences, and truly come to know what they were going through… I thought, “That’s wierd, because my dad is alive…”. But now I see, now I know, that it wasn’t a coincidence….God had put me in their life to help them, and they had been put in my life to help me through this moment. Experiences like this one have been happening all week…. This week, we had the chance to go to the temple with one of our Converts that had been doing the Family History for her Parents! Normally we just wait outside the temple because it is really small, but as an answer to my prayers my companion and I got to sit inside and just really think and pray and ponder. I don’t think I’ve ever felt such peace and strength come to me. My tears began to stop and I just began to remember… remember my dad. All the things I loved about him, all the things we shared, all the experiences that were ours. I began to truly feel his presence and the things he would say to me if he were here….
I’m so grateful for the opportunity I have to be a missionary at this time and in this circumstance. It hasn’t been an easy week, but I have seen the tender mercies of the Lord working in my life and helping me little by little. I know my father would want me to continue my mission, to continue to work hard-  helping people truly come unto Christ, and feel the same peace and strength that I feel right now.I know this Church is True with all of my heart and I feel so blessed to have had the most amazing example and father.I Love you all so much and I am so grateful for your prayers and support.
Love you all so much,
Hna. Hansen
2 thoughts on “Week 23

  1. Hannah,
    This is so beautifully written and I needed to let you know how much I appreciate this. I have been praying and will continue to pray for you and your family. Your maturity is so inspirational and I greatly admire you and your courage.
    Much Love,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

