Week # 2

¡Hola!

Ahh I cannot believe it has already been TWO WEEKS! Seriously, I´m in this weird taboo of feeling like I´ve been here forever and feeling like I just got here! This past week has been filled with so many amazing experiences and moments that have absolutely shown me that the Lord is mindful of each one of us!

Investigators-

Okay so in the CCM we are each given fake investigators so we can learn how to teach lessons in Spanish. Because of our limited knowledge of Spanish, the lesson often ends up being a series of scriptures, pamphlets, and reading pre-written paragraphs. But this week Hermana McReynolds and I decided that we were going to teach our new investigator without any notes or pamphlets and just teach from what we knew in Spanish. As we began to teach I was shocked with how much I was able to say! Even though a few English words would escape at times, I was really able to speak to him and teach him the lessons. I was amazed at the difference and more importantly myself that speaking from the heart makes. When I spoke from the heart, I was able to say more than I ever imagined I could!

My Companion-

Okay, I know I´ve already said it, but my companion is seriously the best. As companions we´re together 24-7 so it’s so great to have someone who I can have so much fun with! Honestly, we are always cracking ourselves up and having the best moments! Latina´s Leave- The Latina´s left this morning!!! So sad! There are now only 4 hermanas in the entire MTC! It´s so sad! I sent some photos my and my comp with them! It was so fun talking to them and having them teach us Spanish while we taught them English! It was so funny to hear them talk about Justin Bieber and One Direction haha… oh they also said I looked like Britney Spears!! haha it´s so crazy we can live so far away from each other but still know the same celebrities and music!

Physical activity-

Each day for about an hour we have time to exercise and play games! The CCM has such a nice big turf field so we always end up playing soccer or ultimate Frisbee! My comp & I´s new favorite thing is ultimate Frisbee with a football! It´s so much fun and much needed after a day full of Spanish classes!

Spiritual Moment-

Okay, so this week was hard. I had gotten a little cold (it´s winter here in Peru) and I was basically just using it as an excuse to have a pity party for myself. I was loving the CCM, but it was hard and with my cold, the last thing I wanted to do was sit in a Spanish class for 6 hours. During personal study my companion and I decided to go sit inside the Chapel and study there. About 10 minutes into studying another sister came in and started playing the piano. The hymns she was playing were so beautiful and as I listened to the music I began to comprehend the words I was reading in the Book of Mormon so clearly. I was reading in 2 Nephi around chapter 3 – where Nephi devotes himself to the Lords work and promises to always trust in him, love him and rely on him. As I read this passage and listened to the beautiful hymns the spirit touched me and I began to realize how silly my pity party was. I literally felt the arms of the Lord encircle me and ensure me that where I was, was where I was supposed to be. As my comp and I walked out of the Capilla and to our next class, we both stopped and started bawling we had both felt the same spirit, and strong comfort as we had both been experiencing a negative day! We just hugged each other for awhile and thanked each other for being here and being each others companions. Ah it was such an amazing reminder to me that the Lord loves us, and he wants us to be happy and feel his love.

Proselyting –

Yay! okay so here at the Peru CCM every other Saturday we have the opportunity to go contacting and visit less active members in the surrounding neighborhoods! We each got matched up with a new Latino companion and then we were off! My new companion, hermana verdezoto was from Ecuador and was so funny and sweet but also didn´t really speak any English! We planned a lesson on enduring to the end and then went out in Lima with a member of the nearby ward and began visiting the less active members in their area! The first house we went to, we were let in right away which was kind of a miracle because most times they aren´t home! The parents we had originally gone to see were gone but their daughter and her two friends were there so they welcomed us inside! Oh my I was so nervous! I was in the home of real Peruvians, people who did not know any language, nor did they no me! After saying the opening prayer in Spanish! We began our lesson. Each time my comp would turn to me to say something my Spanish was slow and I was so nervous I would say something wrong! Looking back I was surprised how much I spoke in that lesson, considering it was my first. The most powerful moment in that lesson for me was when I shared my story of leaving my home in California to come to Peru I didn´t know the language or anything. But I knew that through the Lord and his gospel, I would be able to learn Spanish and teach the people who I need to teach! The girls were so sweet and gave me hugs and kisses goodbye! The next few houses we went to no one came to the door, but at our last house a kind older woman let us in! Now, before this lesson I had said a prayer that I would be helped to really know what I should say and that I would be able to speak in Spanish! And wow this lesson was amazing. My Spanish was clearer, faster, and prettier (I might add) I really felt the support of the Lord in my words! When I shared the story about me learning Spanish again, the woman complimented me strongly saying that my pronunciation was perfect and I spoke with the spirit! They all mentioned how in 4 weeks they couldn´t wait to hear how I sounded! It felt so good to not only be complimented, but encouraged that my Spanish will get better and I will be able to speak Spanish beautifully (someday) haha. proselyting was seriously the best and I cannot wait for the next Saturday we go!!

Food-

Wow… I´ve never eaten so much rice in my life. Seriously the food combos here are so funny, we´ll have rice, french fries, and chicken together most nights. haha also their juice is AWESOME! Everyday they have new flavors and they are the best!

Here are some other fun things I´ve learned about Peru:

1. Halls cough drops are like candy here! Seriously there are people selling them all over the
place and the Latinas go crazy for them
2. Here it is not impolite to knock or ring the bell 3 or 4 times before giving up! Seriously.
3. All the houses in Lima have big gates and you just use a ring to tap on the metal door and
they hear you from anywhere in their house and will pop their head out their window and
just talk to you from there

More to come later!
Love you all!

xoxo
Hermana Hansen

Leave a Reply

